AFCON 2019: Confident Namibia arrive ahead of final round qualifier against Zambia

The Brave Warriors of Namibia have arrived in Lusaka ahead of this Saturday’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Zambia.

The Namibians had a good crowd to welcome them at the Kenneth Kaunda International Airport and the team sounded confident of booking a spot at the Africa Cup of Nations finals in a game that has no significance for Zambia as they are already out of contention.

The team touched down on Thursday evening and a confident coach Ricardo Mannetti says his team have what it takes to get a desired result on Saturday against the host Zambia.

“I have been with this team for some years now and some players have worked with me since their youth days and we have the experience of doing well in the last four years.”

“We won Cosafa, qualified for CHAN finals, and even lost in the quarterfinals and here we are. The players are motivated and seeing this number of people and knowing that more will turn up on Saturday means a lot. For the first time, the team is welcomed by so many people at an airport in a foreign country and this can only motivate the boys”, states Mannetti.

Manneti traveled with a 26 man squad on the short trip from Windhoek from which he will pick the final 18 for the game.

The Brave Warriors will have to avoid defeat in Zambia on Saturday to all but secure a berth at the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) Finals in Egypt from 21 June to 19 July.

Guinea Bissau and Namibia are top of Group K on eight points each with Mozambique in third place on seven points. Zambia are on four points are out of the race to Egypt 2019. The group winner and the runner-up will qualify for the 32nd edition of the Total African Cup of Nations.

Namibia full squad

Virgil Vries, Maximillian Mbaeva, Loydt Kazapua, Petrus Shitembi, Tiberius Lombard, Ananias Gebhardt, Willy Stephanus, Denzil Haoseb, Peter Shalulile , Marcel Papama, Riaan Hanamub, Dynamo Fredericks, Emilio Martin, Ronald Ketjijere, Benson Shilongo, Ivan Kamberipa, Edmund Kambanda, Muna Katupose, Sadney Urikhob, Joslin Kamatuka, Charles Hambira, Treasure Kauapirura, Itamunua Keimuine ,Immanuel Heita ,Absalom Iimbondi and Deon Hotto.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :