Lusaka Dynamos trio to star for Namibia in AFCON qualifier against Zambia

Namibia coach Ricardo Mannetti has named three Lusaka Dynamos players in the final team that has arrived in the country ahead of the Africa Cup qualifier against Zambia.

Petrus Shitembi, Tiberius Lombard and Willy Stephanus have been a joy to watch in the Zambian league and have helped Dynamos to third position after eight rounds of matches and they have deservedly won call ups to their national team.

The three will be back at their club home ground – Heroes Stadium, but unfortunately for the trio, the fans this time will be cheering for the opposition at the same venue.

Shitembi is an attacking midfielder with great ball skills, Stephanus plays wide with a very good cross but it will be interesting to see how tough tackling Lombard will hold up against Justin Shonga who is likely to start in attack for Zambia.

Namibia already have one foot at the finals and will only need to avoid defeat in Lusak on Saturday to all but secure a berth at the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) Finals in Egypt from 21 June to 19 July.

Skipper Roland Ketjijere said on arrival that the decisive moment had arrived for his team; after receiving a thunderous welcome at the Kenneth Kaunda International Airport on Thursday evening.

β€œIt has come to this; we have so many happy people at the airport pushing us to do well on Saturday. We know the work to be done and we remain focused not to disappoint them on Saturday. AFCON is the biggest prize in African football and for our generation of players to make it and make it in front of these Namibians in Zambia will be sentimental indeed,” said Ketjijere.

Guinea Bissau and Namibia are top of Group K on eight points each with Mozambique in third place on seven points. Zambia are on four points are out of the race to Egypt 2019. The group winner and the runner-up will qualify for the 32nd edition of the Total African Cup of Nations.

Namibia full squad

Virgil Vries, Maximillian Mbaeva, Loydt Kazapua, Petrus Shitembi, Tiberius Lombard, Ananias Gebhardt, Willy Stephanus, Denzil Haoseb, Peter Shalulile , Marcel Papama, Riaan Hanamub, Dynamo Fredericks, Emilio Martin, Ronald Ketjijere, Benson Shilongo, Ivan Kamberipa, Edmund Kambanda, Muna Katupose, Sadney Urikhob, Joslin Kamatuka, Charles Hambira, Treasure Kauapirura, Itamunua Keimuine ,Immanuel Heita ,Absalom Iimbondi and Deon Hotto.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :