Katongo, Grace Chanda, and Theresa Chewe to lead nominees for Women’s awards gala

The Zambian football fraternity will this coming Friday convene at the Arakan Banquet hall to celebrate the outstanding players and coaches in Women’s football.

The first-ever Women’s Football Awards gala will see players and coaches from all ten provinces awarded with the Super League players and coaches headlining the event with the best player of the season set to be contested heavily.

2020 Tokyo Olympics qualifiers for Africa top goalscorer, Grace Chanda is expected to lead the nominees for the player of the season following her stellar campaign in the inaugural Women’s Super League.

Copper Queens right back Margaret Belemu is also another player the ZamFoot Crew believes could be up for the top gong.

Green Buffaloes duo of defender Lushomo Mweemba and striker Theresa Chewe are also among players likely to throw their hearts in the bowl for the award. Theresa Chewe has been impressive for the Champions who have already sealed the title with two games left to play scoring 27 goals.

Margret Belemu of Zambia during the 2021 COSAFA Womens Championship Group C game between Zambia and Namibia at Madibaz Stadium in Gqeberha on 3 October 2021 ©Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

Mweemba on the other hand has been a rock at the back for the Zambia army-sponsored side helping them to keep 18 clean sheets and only conceding 7 goals in 24 matches.

Midfielders Elizabeth Mupeso and Rhoda Chileshe are also possible contenders for the player of the season award.

For the young player of the year accolade, U-20 Women’s national team skipper Evarine Susan Katongo headlines the players vying for the award the ZamFoot Crew understands thanks to their extensive coverage of Women’s football.

Katongo is expected to receive competition from former Zambia U-17 Women’s national team captain Esther Siamfuko, Police Dove Queens goal machine Enelesi Phiri for the award the ZamFoot Crew predicts.

Katongo Susan

For the most disciplined player, Mary Wilombe of Red Arrows, Veteran Indeni Roses forward Noria Sosala and Joana Benaya are likely to battle for the accolade.

Red Arrows forward Ochumba Oseke Lubanji is an option for multiple awards including player of the season, most disciplined, and young player of the season.

The awards gala will take place on Friday, 26th November 2021 at Arakan Banquet Hall. The event will start at 18:00hrs with tickets going at K1000. The dress code for the event is black-tie.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com