Barbra Banda, Katongo, And Grace Chanda lead Copper Queens provisional squad for Malawi clash

Copper Queens head coach Bruce Mwape has named a 29-member provisional squad for this month’s 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) qualifier against Malawi.

Mwape has summoned Young Copper Queens skipper Evarine Susan Katongo who led her team to an 8-1 aggregate win over the young scorchers in the Costa Rica 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Katongo has been joined by fellow U-20 stars in winger Siomala Mapepa and striker Lungowe Namasiku who has been handed her first call up for the senior national team.

Mwape has also named 5 foreign-based players led by China-based skipper Barbara Banda alongside Kazakhstani-based midfielder Prisca Chilufya and the Spain-based duo of Rachael Nachula and Rachael Kundananji.

Mwape has also handed Green Buffaloes young midfielder Lubasi Pumulo her first Copper Queens call-up. Striker Maylan Mulenga has also been recalled to the national team setup.

The Copper Queens will face Malawi on October 20 at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe before hosting the Scorchers in the return leg at Nkoloma Stadium six days later.

The winner of the first-round tie will face either Tanzania or Namibia in the second and final qualifying round of the 12th edition of the AWCON billed for Morocco from July 2-23, 2022.



Hazel Nali (Hapoel Be’er Sheva-Israel), Ng’ambo Musole (Zesco Ndola Girls), Catherine Musonda (Indeni Roses), Eunice Sakala (Nkwazi Queens)


Patricia Lampi (YASA Girls), Margaret Belemu, Mary Mulenga (both Red Arrows), Vast Phiri (Zesco Ndola Girls), Martha Tembo, Agness Musesa, Lushomo Mweemba (all Green Buffaloes), Rhodah Nakanyika, Margaret Mulenga (both Lusaka Dynamos)


Rachael Kundananji (SD Eibar-Spain), Avell Chitundu (Zesco Ndola Girls), Rachael Nachula (Zaragoza CFF-Spain), Esther Namukwasa (Indeni Roses), Evarine Susan Katongo (Luyando Girls Foundation), Prisca Chilufya (BIIK Kazygurt-Kazakhstan), Pumulo Lubasi (Green Buffaloes), Mary Wilombe, Milika Limwanya (both Red Arrows), Elizabeth Mupeso (Lusaka Dynamos)


Barbara Banda (Shanghai Shengli -China), Lungowe Namasiku (ZISD), Grace Chanda, Ochumba Oseke Lubanji (both Red Arrows), Maylan Mulenga (Green Buffaloes), Xiomala Mapepa (Lusaka Dynamos)

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :