AFCON 2019 : Three ZSL stars make Kenya provisional squad, Jesse Were not good enough

Kenya national team coach Sébastien Migné has named three ZSL stars in his 30 man Provisional squad for Next months Africa Cup of Nations to be hosted by Egypt.

The three are Zesco United duo of versatile Midfielder Anthony Akumu Agay and David Owino Odhiambo and Musa Mohammed of Nkana.

Click here to join and play for free

The French trainer has however snubbed Zesco United talisman Jesse Jackson Were with former Girona striker Michael ‘Midusa’ Olunga set to lead the Harambee Stars attack at the tournament. According to Migné Jesse is not good enough to play for Kenya.

“He is not good enough to play for Kenya right now. He has had the chance to impress but on many occasions he never lives up to the task. He has enjoyed over 26 call ups to the team but he never scores for the team,” Migné said during a press conference this morning.

The team will travel to France for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations preparations.Tottenham Hotspurs midfielder Victor Wanyama will captain the Harambee Stars.

Harambee Stars full squad for AFCON 2019


Patrick Matasi (St. Georges, Ethiopia), Faruk Shikhalo (Bandari FC, Kenya), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC-Zambia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Abud Omar (Sepsi Sfântu-Romania), David Owino (Zesco United-Zambia), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United-Kenya), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United-South Africa), Erick Ouma (Vasalund IF-Sweden), Joseph Okumu (USA)


Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs-England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United-Zambia), Eric Johanna (IF Bromma-Sweden), Ismael Gonzales (UD Las Palmas-Spain), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka FC-Kenya), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge-Belgium), Christopher Mbamba (Oskarshamns AIK-Sweden), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Clifton Miheso (Portugal)


Paul Were (AFC Leopards-Kenya), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe-China), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol-Japan), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz-Kenya), John Avire (Sofapaka), Masud Juma (Libya), Ochieng Ovella (IF Vasalund, Sweden)

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :